Posted by: adventuressetravels | June 16, 2010

On the Road Again

The sun was still high at 8:00 when B and I pulled up to the bus stop in his beat-up maroon Acura.  I could almost see the humidity hanging in the air.  Reluctantly we climbed out of the air-conditioned car into the soupy day and swam our way to the arriving bus.  Early June and already over 90!  I was glad I was getting out of Kansas.

Dropping my backpack on the dusty parking lot I hugged B tight, laughing he picked me up and spun me around.  You just can’t get hugs like that anywhere else.   I would miss B, I really would.  But there was always someone to miss.  The road was calling, and I couldn’t wait to get out of Kansas, I thought to myself for the hundredth time. 

It really was time for me to go.  Staying in one place too long stressed me out and too long in Lawrence equated to two weeks.  I gave B one last hug before showing the driver my ticket and stepping up into the delicious chill of the air-conditioned bus.

As the bus pulled away from the curb my heart soared.    This was what I was supposed to be doing.  A broad grin spread over my face as I felt the warm jubilance wash over me.   A $24 ticket to Memphis from Kansas City, I marveled again.  First discount airlines, now discount bus fares.  I was thrilled that Megabus had expanded to the US.  The English company didn’t have a direct KC to Memphis route, but the Chicago stop gave me a chance to catch up with friends.

Staring out the window I watched the spectacular prairie sunset and went over trip plans in my mind until the sun slipped out of sight.  Without the sun the temperature seemed to plummet.  Brrrr!   I huddled under my jacket to fend off the chilly temperature. The bus’ steady movement lulled me to sleep I laid down across the two seats and slept straight through until the first hints of morning streaked the night sky and we pulled into Chicago.

My recent discovery of Megabus was monumental.  If you are anything like me you stretch your resources as far as you can and a bus company that offers fares as low as $1 is great.  Ten hour bus rides may seem intimidating, but thankfully I can sleep on busses.  Even better, they have wifi and outlets so keeping oneself entertained isn’t too terribly difficult.  If you’ve got more time than money I highly recommend it.  Sure they don’t go to a huge number of locations yet but hopefully that will change in the near future.  Just be sure you remember to bring warm clothes.  The temperatures get arctic on those rides.

Leave a Reply

Categories

