Posted by: adventuressetravels | June 17, 2010

The Adventure takes you

 My favorite passage of Steinbeck’s states that “we do not take a trip; a trip takes us.”  I would go so far as to say that this extends to the planning of the trip as well.  And this journey was no exception.  The original plan for this year was to Fly out to California, see some friends and family before bussing my way down through Central America and taking a boat over to Colombia.  With the increasing activity of Mexican drug gangs that plan was looking less and less do-able; while I do love adventure, I’m not a huge fan of putting my life at risk.  So after careful consideration I decided to wait and rub elbows with Mexican drug lords another year.

One thing led to another and my focus shifted from the West Coast to the East, more specifically the South.  I’d never been to that part of the country, I had heard amazing things about Savannah Georgia, this way I would get a chance to see New Orleans before BP made the poor shell of a hurricane ravaged city spontaneously combust.  Better still, this way I could boat hitchhike to Central America to improve my Spanish.

With the previous incarnation of my plan to make it back to South America, I had run into problems at every step of the planning.  One after another, from problems with coordinating my friends and family’s schedules so I could see everyone to political unrest which could put me in mortal danger.   It was beating my head against a brick wall. From the moment I changed the plan, things just flowed.

Without even trying everything fell into place.  It was almost as if the trip was planning itself.   A couple days after deciding on the new route, my friend V asked me what I was doing June 10-12.  He was performing at Bonnaroo and asked if I wanted to come.

 “What’s Bonnaroo?” I naively asked.

As it turns out Bonnaroo is a pretty significant music (and arts) festival.  As a rule I’m not a huge fan of festivals but still. How such a big  one  totally have escaped my notice?  Lollapalooza, yes. Warp tour- back in the day.  Cochella, of course.  CMJ, South by Southwest, Glastonbury; I knew about all of those.  But Bonnaroo?  Moth wings of recollection brushed the back of my mind, I might have heard something about it, but I was far from certain. 

I was tickled pink that V had thought to invite me.  I’m almost always on the move;  I’m not even in the country that often let alone the right city.  What this means is that even though I am lucky enough to have some of the best people in the world as my friends I am not generally a part of their day-to-day lives.  Not on the tip of their tongue, if you will.  I wouldn’t trade my nomadic lifestyle for the world, but still it can be nice to be reminded your friends think of you.  So invitations me out of the blue like this mean a whole lot.  Of course I would go!

I love when things work out like this. The first adventure of the new trip was all lined up.  But where to go after that?

 I was soon to discover…

Responses

  1. to NASHVILLE of course! haha.


Leave a Reply

Categories

