Posted by: adventuressetravels | July 1, 2010

Baking on a Boat

 “This little guy didn’t make it,” B said, holding up a tiny little flying fish, gliding flippers stretched out.    “I found him on deck this morning.  Do you want em?”  Still shaking off the remnants of sleep I didn’t think to take a picture of the three-inch casualty of flight.

“No, just throw him back.  Give someone else a nice snack.”  Now I sorely regret that decision, but one little flying fish wasn’t even a meal for one person, let alone three.  Besides, I was already gearing up to make cranberry muffins.  My first expedition into baking on boat.

“The oven is a little tricky.  You need to turn the pans a lot,” X had warned me.  I was used to cooking on the road.  Couchsurfing, I had gotten to cook in all variety of stoves throughout South America; from wood burning ovens, to little propane camping torches.  I’d seen it all.  A ship’s propane oven couldn’t scare me.

And so my battle with the little propane stove began.  As they say, pride cometh before the fall and thinking your first try is going to be perfect is downright hubris.  I went into it knowing what I was up against, but even so.  The resulting cranberry lemon bread ((the kind of bread that would have been muffins if I had had proper muffin tins) was not my best work.  Even with a well-oiled pan and turning every few minutes the bread still wasn’t baked completely evenly.  Worse still it stuck to the pan.

After trials, tribulations, and much turning (the pan) I was the victor of my battle with the propane oven, but only by a razor thin margin.  Gone in a few hours, it was tasty enough; unfortunately the presentation left something to be desired.  A golden-brown top was just impossible unless I charred the bottom.  Cooking on an oven heated by one thin row of propane flames pushed my baking expertise to its limits.  Even with all that, it was pretty tasty.  I’ll have to try the recipe on dry land.

Cranberry Lemon Muffins

  • 2  cups flour
  • 1 c sugar 
  • 2 eggs 
  • ½ c vegetable oil 
  • 1 c milk
  • ½ t baking powder 
  •  pinch salt 
  •  1 t vanilla 
  • 3 T lemon juice    
  • ½ c dried cranberries

Directions

  1.   preheat oven to 350
  2.  grease loaf pan
  3.   mix ingredients
  4.   cook for  30 min
Leave a Reply

Categories

