Posted by: adventuressetravels | August 12, 2010

Opening Doors

Santiago, Chile

Traveling is one of my favorite things in life, the thrill of the open road, adventures around the next corner; you are constantly adapting, learning, and growing.  Life is a journey in and of itself, but there is just something about the feel of wind in your hair, and the freedom of travel that makes my heart soar.

Though of course there are many ways to travel, to me, the two main types of travel are traveling solo and travel with friends.  Both are types wonderful, but as different as night and day, as two sides of the same coin.

Traveling with friends is about sharing good times, having fun and doing something different and exciting with friends.  While it is about seeing different places and having new experiences, the trip’s focus is really on your relationship(s).  Of course you will probably have a fantastic time with your friends, but they are your friends.  Wherever you go you are still in your insular group traveling with the baggage of your habits, worldviews, and the person you are at home.  In other words, you bring your inside jokes, shared stories, and your history traveling with you.

Paracas, Peru

Why do I travel alone, many people ask me.  Though I do enjoy traveling with friends, and have shared some wonderful adventures, on the whole I actually prefer to travel solo.  Though of course there are the obvious  reasons having more freedom to do what you want when you want, not having to wait for your friends to have enough time or money to  be able to make the journey, these are not the main reasons for my love of traveling on my own.

Traveling solo is a whole new world.  It is about learning, sampling the fruits of life, experiencing different cultures.  Traveling solo you can step outside yourself, open yourself up to life, different experience, see things from a different perspective, and get the inside scoop.

San Martin de los Andes, Argentina

I am an adventuresse.  I crave happenstance; the chance encounter that leads me to finding myself in the right place at the right time and winding up on a new journey, discovering a different culture, way of life, or opening new doors.  And these doors seem to open more frequently to the solo traveler, the adventurer, and those who put themselves out there.

Many people are afraid of traveling solo and being alone, but these fears are chiefly ungrounded.  You are rarely really by yourself, far from it; while traveling it is much easier to meet people, both locals and fellow travelers.   Tours are wonderful opportunities to meet people who love the same things, hostels easy places to encounter fellow travelers, and of course there is always couch surfing.  You are a traveler; you are fun, interesting, and new… you have great stories, adventures, and knowledge to share.  Everybody wants to get to know you!

Iguazu Falls, Argentina

That said, many people are still a little apprehensive of getting out there and hitting the road.  But you don’t have to take my word for it, Gray Cargill’s blog www.solofriendly.com is a wonderful resource and inspiration for travelers everywhere who are sick of waiting for their friends to have enough time or money and join them on the road.  As she says, traveling solo is a wonderful way to develop your self reliance and discover confidence you never knew you had.

So what are you waiting for?  Get out there and dive into the world.  It is a rich, diverse place just waiting for you to discover it!

Responses

  1. I love your adventuresome spirit! I chickened out traveling solo at the last minute for my trip to costa rica because I was afraid of the language barrier! My spanish is almost non-existent! How do you overcome the language barrier??

    • Thanks! As far as Costa Rica goes I would say just go for it. If you stick to bigger cities you can definitely get by with little to no Spanish. When I came to Argentina my Spanish was pretty much non-existent but you pick things up along the way and there’s always someone around willing to help out. I’d say just go for it!

  2. How sweet of you to mention me! Naturally, I agree with you wholeheartedly about solo travel. 🙂

  3. There are 2 books, at least, by Paul Thereox, abt travel solo-very good description, from you, & he has more of it-He took a train trip from London to China( & more), 2 trips, 33 years apart.


Leave a Reply

Categories

