Posted by: adventuressetravels | January 10, 2011

Jigs on the High Seas

Happy New Years! A bit late, I realize but such is the way of the world. I have long been absent from my blog posts but I am back, with resolutions to write every day.

My travels have taken me once again to the high seas where internet is patchy at best, but I will do my best to keep up with the blog and not get distracted with other writing projects. Well, not terribly distracted.

On this New Years day I find myself in the Southern Bahamas on a 42-foot catamaran called the Leeway, my home for the past two months. I find myself ruminating not on the ocean, but on the rousing strains of the Pogues.

I don’t know what it is about an Irish song that stirs the blood, but ever since early childhood listening to my parents Clancy Brothers records I have been enamored with the whistles, violins, and love songs to alcohol. Whether it’s the red hair, genetics, or simply upbringing there is something about the fantastic bar songs of Ireland that just makes you want to start dancing.

I’m not sure why but for some reason Irish music doesn’t make it into my regular rotation. I don’t even think of it often. Today, I was listening to my itunes, when Shane MacGowan’s slirred gravely voice came piping through my headphones and a smile stole its way over my face. The Pogues. The Pogues! Now I can’t stop listening to these rousing strains. The Sunnyside of the Street, Sally Maclennane, Whiskey You’re the Devil… it’s all so good! Oh for a tasty shot of Baileys…

I’m not quite sure if my sealegs are good enough to dance a jig while sailing the high seas, I’m not sure my land legs are suited for such dance, but my heart certainly is.

An addendum, my internet access is intermittent at best and alas, my resolution did not even survive a week. However, when I do get online I will do my best to put something online. I am not quite sure the next time that will be though. We are in George Town, Bahamas on Great Exuma island right now and are heading South to the Jamentos and then off to Mexico. Who knows when or where in the world I will be posting from next…

Leave a Reply

Categories

