Posted by: adventuressetravels | April 15, 2011

Ginger: Seasickness’ Silver Bullet

Just the thought of seasickness can strike fear in the hearts of many people.  Some people get it and others don’t, many will tell you, but it really isn’t that cut and dry.  Many people acclimate.  For their first few days at sea, even the gentle rocking of the boat may unsettle a landlubber’s stomach, but for  most people, at least in my experience, it does get better.

Susie, our newest crew member had barely set foot on the boat before we pulled up anchor and set sail.

I felt for her, we had all needed to acclimate for our first days on the Leeway, from the experienced tugboat mariner to myself.  I never felt much more than slightly uncomfortable the first time we were in high winds, but I kept ginger on hand just in case.  Ginger is so wonderful at settling the stomach it is practically like a silver bullet for seasickness.

Susie’s initiation onto the Leeway was particularly brutal though.  From almost the start of our passage we were taking a beating. We were sailing close-hauled, into the wind, on a confused sea, the current and wind sending waves from every direction.

“She sails like a brick,” Susie’s boyfriend had said from the moment he set foot on the boat a few months earlier.  This was a prime example.  Without a trampoline, or netting stretched between the hulls on the bow of the boat, the solid bow slammed into each wave with all the grace of a book slapping against the water.  I cringed:  poor Susie’s quarters were on the bow.  The worst place to be in rough weather.

I fervently hoped Susie’s seasickness would abate after a few days.  Just to make sure I whipped up a revised boat-version of my godmother’s ginger drink.  My godmother the culinary genius, had given me the recipe years earlier and I had never had the chance to try the recipe until I was on the boat.  The concoction was a tasty and beneficial addition to boat life.  I just wished I’d thought to give Susie a glass before she started feeling under the weather.  Unfortunately after seasickness really kicks in only sleep and time can help.

I’ve been a fan of this drink since the first time I tried it at my godmother’s house years ago and highly recommend it not just for sailing but for a delicious summer drink in any part of the world.

GINGER DRINK

3 c boiling water

½ c grated fresh ginger root (I use a food processor rather than a grater but remember to peel the ginger first)

½ c sugar

2 cinnamon sticks

½ c fresh lime juice

1c orange juice

5 c cool water

–      Put grated ginger root, sugar, & cinnamon in boiling water and remove from flame.

–      Let sit for an hour.

–      Add juices and remaining water and let sit for another hour.

–      Remove cinnamon sticks.

–      If desired strain the liquid (it gives it a spicier flavor by leaving in ginger)

–      Store in refrigerator, I used empty plastic 2-liter  bottles

It’s great if you ad sparkling water, you can also dilute with more water or even add rum to make a mixed drink

Responses

  1. Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

    Rise n Shine Eggs – Breakfast Recipe


Leave a Reply

Categories

