Posted by: adventuressetravels | May 31, 2011

The Ocean’s Call

It hasn’t always been a dream of mine to sail around the world.  I would suppose it would sound better if it had, but growing up in Kansas, the geographical center of the US, the salty sea breeze was hard-pressed to whip its way across the seas of wheat and reach my door.

It took years, decades even, to find my way onto a real boat, but there is something in the very nature of the ocean that calls to us.  From the moment I felt the wind on my face in Ale’s  sloop mono-hull sailboat skimming over the waves of Argentina’s Rio Plata, I was hooked.  That day I made a promise to myself; I would learn to sail.  I would spend at least a year at sea.

I haven’t worked my way up to a year at sea yet, I’m taking baby steps.  4 days at sea delivering a boat from Florida to Georgia.  Four months at sea crewing a catamaran in the Bahamas and Mexico.  I’m eagerly awaiting my next nautical adventure.  Whatever it is I am sure it will be amazing.  Though there have been moments of fear or discomfort, it worth every second to sail the briny blue.  After all, some of the happiest, most exhilarating, and incredible moments of my life have been spent sailing.

Standing alone on deck the stars looking so close you could almost reach out and grab one fills a soul to the brimming.  I wouldn’t trade my night watches: the boat cleaving its glittering path of bioluminescence through the enchanted waters looking like a fuzzy blanket being moved on a cold winter night its static electricity crackling for all the world.

I may not have been born on the water but there is certainly a drop or two of salt water running through my veins.  I love the salt spray of the sea, interactions with dolphins, snorkeling, and so much more.

That said; when we anchored in Key West I was more than ready to get off of the Leeway.  I had had more than enough of being on a boat held together by yarn and chewing gum.  I was tired of the water maker breaking every week, the wind generators breaking, the ship slowly sinking, and the multitude of other problems.  I had had more than enough of trying to sail a boat that just seemed to fall further and further into disrepair.

Most boats do not have as many problems as I encountered on the Leeway.  Sailing on such a boat was an excellent shake down and overview of things that could go wrong.  After sailing these four months I am in no way dissuaded from the ocean.  I may need a break on land to regroup, but I hear the ocean’s call more clearly now than ever.  Oh yes, my adventures on the high seas are far from over.

Responses

  1. Gee, from previous posts I had gotten the idea that the crises were half the fun.


Leave a Reply

Categories

