Posted by: adventuressetravels | July 1, 2011

Art is for Everyone

May was monsoon season in New York.  Almost every day the same:  slate grey skies, fog, and a heavy mist increasing to droplets, sometimes coming to the climax of a real deluge.  If I wanted to be in London I’d just go there, I lamented.

I couldn’t run in Central Park, strolling in my favorite neighborhoods was utterly out of the question…  My mood was as gloomy as the weather.  And then it hit me.  Museums!  Of course!

New York has some of the best museums in the world and there is no better way to spend a rainy day than visiting one.  Unfortunately, when one is on a budget the entry fees can seem prohibitive.

The magical thing about New York is that there is almost always a budget-friendly way.  Museum entry is no different.  It is possible to see many of the spectacular art collections for a lower price or even for free.

I like to find other cost-effective ways to enjoy my travels.  All it takes is a little research, which can often give you ideas for other interesting things to do.

Before I began living my life out of a backpack and still called New York home, I loved going to the Metropolitan Museum of Art.  With over 2 million pieces of art, this phenomenal museum is well worth the trip to Museum Mile.  This wealth of history and art is one of the best in the world and a visit is well worth the $20 suggested donation.  If you have it.

If you are short on cash this is thankfully just a suggested donation.  Even though you do have to go up to the ticket counter it is perfectly acceptable to give them $5, $10, or however much money you are able.  After all, art and culture are meant to be enjoyed by everyone.

I realized this was not the only museum with a suggested admission or free entry on certain days so I did a Google search.  To my surprise and delight I found this article that lists some fantastic specials on New York Museums every day of the week:

http://gonyc.about.com/cs/museums/a/museumdeals.htm

I highly recommend reading this article before going to museums in New York, especially if money is an issue.

Offering a list of museums that are always free, museums with suggested admission, and deals for various days of the week this article had it all.  Granted, the museums will certainly be more crowded on the free entry days or hours, but if you don’t have the resources it may be worth it.  I look at this as a wonderful opportunity giving everyone the chance to visit New York’s fantastic museums.

Responses

  1. Millions for art and art for the millions. Really helpful post.


Leave a Reply

Categories

