Posted by: adventuressetravels | August 23, 2011

A Veggie New York

I love to travel but I always love coming back to New York.  I breathe a subconscious culinary sigh of relief.  Though I don’t always notice having to search for veggie-friendly foods, when I’m around my favorite veggie grocery store

May Wah Vegetarian Market

The list of veggie “meats” May Wah offers is truly mindboggling.  Veggie lobster, prawns, chicken leg, and duck just to name a few.  Everything is extremely reasonably priced, and it is so good that many of the New York’s must lauded vegetarian restaurants order it and re-serve it in their creations.  Red Bamboo is the restaurant that I have noticed the most use of May Wah’s “meat.”

Sadly my all-time favorite veggie meat creation, May Wah’s Char Siew steamed buns, are not available for delivery and can only be found at the mother store in Chinatown, New York.  Alas the buns do not ship well.  Much as it pains me, the other veggie fare is also spectacular.  Though I haven’t scratched the surface of May Wah’s massive selection some of my favorites are the citrus spare ribs, ginger chicken, and bbq pork.

213 Hester Street, (Hester and Center)

212.334.4428

877.668.2668

www.vegieworld.com

maywah@vegieworld.com

They deliver to the tri-state area, Boston, Washington DC, Philadelphia, and Maryland, and offer UPS Ground, 2nd day, and next day shipping to additional locations.

Though May Wah is my favorite vegetarian gem in the New York, it is by no means the only one.  And as hard as I try making it to all of the veggie restaurants in New York is nearly impossible.  I must point you to another blogger who wrote a fantastic A-Z of veggie restaurants in New York.  Almost every recommendation in this article is fabulous.  Check it out!

http://www.satyamag.com/mar06/kwan.html

Responses

  1. Pseudo meats? Next it will be pseudo vegetables.

  2. Hi friends, fastidious post and pleasant urging commented at this place, I am genuinely enjoying by
    these.


Leave a Reply

Categories

