Posted by: adventuressetravels | February 10, 2012

A Thai Beauty and the Beast?

Coming to Asia can be a bit of a culture shock, even for a seasoned traveler.  There are many parts of the way of life in Thailand which are different from what I have been accustomed to in the west.   Some things, like the toilets using water rather than toilet paper took a little while to get used to.  Most, I understood.   A few things, on the other hand leave me perplexed.

When I walked past this billboard in Chiang Mai for example, I stopped and

gaped, aghast.  A mutilated claw-like hand putting a wedding ring on a dainty hand.  What could it mean?  I was enthralled, repulsed, and really wished I could read Thai.

 

Can someone please explain what this ad says and what on earth it’s promoting?  Hypotheses or conjectures are more than welcome.

Responses

  1. mmm andá a saber… a lo mejor es la publicidad de una agencia matrimonial, para encontrar parejas :-p

  2. The left sentence, a man says: “Do you want to marry me?”
    The right text I can’t read. It’s too small.

    • Thanks! I wish you could read the text on the right side!

      • May be I could, but the size of the letters is too small. 😀
        Do you have bigger Picture of this?


Leave a Reply

Categories

